How to Use GMV Max Advertising

  1. Introduction to GMV Max

GMV Max is our new automated commerce solution on TikTok that optimizes for total returns from your TikTok Shop. This solution is powered by the entire TikTok Shop ecosystem: approved organic, affiliate, and paid ad content work together to maximize your ROI. With the help of automation, creatives are tested and optimized at scale, ensuring that the right creatives are placed in front of the right audiences at the right time..
  1. Benefits

  • Less guesswork, so you can focus on what matters. You choose the products, ROI and budget, and automation takes care of the rest, leveraging AI to fully optimize your marketing operations for TikTok Shop, resulting in more efficient spending and faster results.
  • Spend budgets more efficiently: Product GMV Max decides which creatives, placements and audiences would be the most efficient to serve your ad to, and leverages a bid strategy that allows advertisers to maximize results while maintaining control over their average cost.
  • Reach users across all placements with one campaign: When you create a campaign with Product Max GMV, you automatically access all shoppable placements in TikTok, including the For-you-feed, ShopTab, Search and more.
  • Enhanced organic delivery: GMV Max optimizes organic delivery in addition to paid ad traffic, providing advertisers with incremental GMV that would not otherwise be attainable without GMV max.
  • Tap into the power of commerce on TikTok, leveraging the ecosystem of affiliate, organic, and paid, to maximize your sales across all three content types. GMV Max automatically selects the best performing approved creatives and places them in front of the right audiences to scale campaigns faster.
  • Incremental GMV: Product GMV Max works to improve your overall Product and Shop GMV, not only the GMV coming from your ad spend. GMV Max will leverage both ad and organic signals to improve performance for your products. As such, clients using GMV Max are likely to see their organic traffic and conversions improve.
  1. Getting Started

Note: GMV Max helps improve the organic traffic of both seller videos and affiliate videos. Affiliate videos receive a commercial content label, and if you choose, you can label your seller videos with a branded content toggle.

Step 1: Finding GMV Max in Seller Center

GMV Max is located in the Shop Ads Tab under "Marketing" in the left hand menu on Seller Center.

Step 2: Set your primary ad account

Once you arrive in GMV Max, select a primary ad account to be used for GMV Max. Each shop can only have 1 primary ad account for GMV Max.

Step 3: Create your first campaign

Click on the "Create GMV Max Ads" button in the right-hand corner.
Selecting your inputsProduct selection:Selecting the products you want to promote. You can either select all products to be promoted, or select specific products to be promoted.
💡 TikTok Shop Ads Product Team Tip We recommend selecting all products to truly maximize the performance. Alternatively, if you don't want to select all products, we recommend selecting products with more than $1,500 GMV in the last 7 days, OR products that have a substantial volume of creatives in the TikTok Shop ecosystem. This includes content with product links for the products you are choosing in both affiliate content and content posted from your own TikTok profile. ROI target:The ROI target is pre-filled with a recommended ROI based on the product's performance and previous ad spend (if any). We recommend following the recommended ROI as it is custom for each product and shop.
💡 TikTok Shop Ads Product Team Tip Your ROI target should reflect a percentage of GMV that you are willing to invest on ad spend for the product you have selected, and should be calculated as a fraction. For example, if you would like to invest 20% of your GMV on ads for this product, the ROI calculation would be 1/20% = 1/1/5 = 1*5 = 5 GMV Max ROI incorporates the GMV of all orders placed when a campaign is active (including both paid and organic orders) with the exception of LIVE orders. Therefore, the product ROI calculation is Product ROI = Total non-LIVE GMV (paid + organic) / Total ad spend.Budget:The Budget is pre-filled with a recommended budget based on the product's performance and previous ad spend. We recommend following the recommended budget as it is custom for each product and shop.
Creatives:We strongly recommend using the "Autoselect" option for GMV Max, especially if you're getting started for the first time, however, you also have the option for manually selecting which creatives to be leveraged in GMV Max.
Publish your campaign!When you publish your GMV Max campaign, all existing ads featuring the products you are promoting with GMV max will be paused automatically, this is to isolate GMV Max performance and attribution
  1. Measuring performance

There are a few key metrics to review when it comes to measuring performance for your GMV max campaigns
  • Incremental GMV: Review the GMV prior to launching your GMV Max campaign and after launching your GMV Max campaign. If there has been an incremental increase since launching GMV max campaigns, the campaign can be deemed successful.
  • ROI attainment: If your campaign is reaching your ROI target, this can be seen as a measure of success.
💡 TikTok Shop Ads Product Team TipComparing your ROAS from previous Shop Ad campaigns to the ROI for GMV max campaigns can be misleading as Shop Ad campaigns will only account for GMV generated from paid ad campaigns, where GMV Max accounts for both Paid and Organic GMV, therefore it is not advised to compare both GMV max and Shop Ad campaign (Video Shopping Ads, Product Listing Ads).
  1. Optimizing GMV Max Campaigns

As GMV Max campaigns are entirely automated, there are few levers that you can pull to optimize your campaign. Below are ways that you can help improve performance, increase spending, or reach your ROI targets by pulling the following levers
  1. Increase creative volume: Creative volume is the single most important factor in GMV Max campaigns and require a constant influx of new creative content to see continued success. As such, its important to ensure that there is sufficient amount of creative volume being added to the TikTok Shop ecosystem on a regular basis. There is not a specific threshold of creatives required as it will depend on the quality of creative and product attractiveness to the user and this will vary for each shop and product. To familiarize yourself with which creatives are considered for GMV Max, please review the section titled "A note on Creatives"
  2. Ensure the right products are chosen: Choose products that have at least $1500 in last 7 day GMV. Ideally, these products should have a good amount of content in the TikTok Shop ecosystem, this include all organic and affiliate content as well as ad content that include product links for the products in your campaigns. Products with low GMV to start with or low content volume to start with will have a difficult time getting started. If you're trying to cold start a product on TikTok Shop, we recommend using Video Shopping ads or Product Listing Ads, which are our standard shop ad formats
  3. Reduce ROI target: Another way to increase spend for your campaigns is to lower the ROI target you set. We recommend using the pre-filled recommended ROI target, otherwise, we recommend lowering the ROI target by 10% gradually until spend picks up.
    1. A Note on Creatives

    Creative volume is the single most important factor in GMV Max campaigns and requires a constant influx of new creative content to see continued success. As such, its important to ensure that there is sufficient amount of creative volume being added to the TikTok Shop ecosystem on a regular basis. There is not a specific threshold of creatives required as it will depend on the quality of creative and product attractiveness to the user and this will vary for each shop and product.
    Any video with a product link will benefit from GMV Max campaigns. Affiliate videos receive a commercial content label, and if you choose, you can label your seller videos with a branded content toggle.
    Additionally, videos that have ad authorization will be used as ads. We recommend turning on ACA (Affiliate Content Authorization) in increase the total amount of content available for GMV Max campaigns. Product GMV Max automatically fetches organic videos which have a corresponding product link and uses them as ads for the selected products in the campaign, as long as these videos are authorized to be used in ads. The authorized sources from where videos can be fetched are:
    1. Spark ads posts (authorized code videos) in the TTAM Creative Library from the ad account (spark ads posts in other ad accounts cannot be used)
    2. Videos from TikTok Official Account of the shop
    3. Videos from TikTok Business Account of the shop
    4. Videos from Available TikTok Accounts in the shop's Seller Center (which are exactly Authorized TikTok Accounts in the shop's TikTok Business Center)
    Below is a chart that summarizes whether or not videos are eligible for GMV max
    Creative SourceEligible for GMV Max ads?
    Videos from TikTok Official Account of the shopYes
    Videos from TikTok Business Account of the shopYes
    Videos from Available TikTok Accounts in the shop's Seller Center (which are exactly Authorized TikTok Accounts in the shop's TikTok Business Center)Yes
    Videos from Marketing TikTok Accounts of the shopNo
    Spark ads posts (authorized code videos) in the TTAM Creative Library from the ad account which has been selected to run Product GMV Max (primary GMV Max ad account)Yes
    Spark ads posts (authorized code videos) for Product from non-primary GMV Max ad accountNo
    Affiliate Creative AuthorizationNo
    Previously run VSA ads that were sparked from Official TikTok Account that don't have a product linkNo
    Videos posted in "Ads Only Mode"No
    1. How to see ad permission for TikTok Accounts in the Seller Center

    • Log into the Seller Center of the shop, click on Marketing>Shop Ads tab on the left.
    • Click on Manage account to the right of the ad account name.
    • At the bottom of the page, in the Available TikTok accounts section, you can see all authorized TikTok Accounts in Business Center.
      • If there is an Authorize now button, it means the official account hasn't given full ad permissions to the shop. To enable this, click the button to get full ad permissions.
      • If there is an Edit Access button, it means non-official accounts hasn't given full ad permissions to the shop. To enable, this, click the button to get the full ad permissions.
      • If there is a Get Permission button, it means these accounts have given full ad permissions to the shop, but the user logged in doesn't have the full ad permission. To enable this, click the button and get the full ad permissions.
      • If there is no button, it means the permission is set correctly. Sellers are good to go!
    1. How to see which TikTok Accounts which have been used in campaign

    • In the Ad creative section during campaign creation, sellers can see how many TikTok Accounts have been used as creative source. And click xx TikTok accounts, sellers can see the full list of TikTok accounts.
    • If some TikTok accounts with available creatives are missing from the list, please check whether these TikTok accounts have been linked to the shop and have given ad permission to the shop.
    1. How to add more creatives into the pool

    • Add more Spark ads posts with one single product anchor link into the Creative Library on TTAM of the selected ad account that is running Product GMV Max (e.g. Influencers' TikTok Posts).
    • Post videos with product link in Tiktok Official Account, TikTok Business Accounts or Available TikTok Accounts in the Shop's Seller Center.
    • Add more TikTok accounts with videos that have one single product anchor link into the shop's Seller Center (e.g. Influences' TikTok Accounts, Shop Marketing TikTok Accounts).

    a) Add more Spark ads posts into the Creative Library

    • Log into the TTAM of the selected ad account, go to the Sparks ads posts tab in the Creative library.
    • Click Apply for Authorization, fill in the code to search for the post and get authorization.

    b) Add more TikTok Accounts into the Seller Center

    • Log into the Seller Center of the shop, click the Shop Ads tab.
    • Click on Manage account to the right of the ad account name.
    • At the bottom of the page, in the Available TikTok accounts section, sellers can see all authorized TikTok Accounts in Business Center.
    • Click Connect account. You can add more TikTok accounts here and these accounts will be added in Business Center too.
    • Use the TikTok App scan the QR code to give ad permission to the Business Center.

    FAQ

    Creative

    Which creatives are used for GMV max?
    All creatives including a product link, will be considered for GMV max. However, only creatives that are authorized for ads will be used as ads.
    How do I authorize content for ads?
    Review section 6, "A Note on Creatives" above, to find out more about how to increase content for GMV Max.
    How does GMV Max use promotional content? Is there a way to include/exclude promotional content?
    Advertisers can manually select videos to include/exclude.
    Does all my organic content only show as ads when I use GMV Max?
    No, only ad authorized content will be shown as "sponsored" and organic content will remain organic.

    Billing

    Where does spend for GMV Max show and where is GMV Max spend taken from?
    It should go through the same process as the normal ads, you will see costs in the transaction module in the finance section.

    Bids & Budget

    How do I set bids (ROI target) and budgets?
    We recommend using the pre-filled ROI and Budget recommendations during campaign set up. These are calculated based on your shop's previous sales.

    Attribution

    What is the Attribution logic for GMV Max?
    GMV max uses a 24h attribution window and attributes sales on the product level, compared to TTAM which has a longer attribution window (7d click, 1d view), and attributes on a shop level.
    Why is the attribution logic different for GMV Max than TTAM?
    Custom Shop Ads incorporate total paid orders from all the products in the shop that occurred within 7 days of clicking on an ad or within 1 day of viewing an ad.
    GMV Max Ads incorporate total paid & organic orders from promoted products/promoted liveroom when a campaign is active.

    Product Strategy

    Is GMV Max recommended for newer products that ads have never been run on?
    Suitable products for GMV Max are products that have a high volume of content, both organic and paid. Regardless of previous ad experience, if the advertiser has a high amount of creative volume, then they are a good fit for GMV Max.

    GMV Max vs Ads Manager

    How is the tech different than optimizing for ROAS on ads manager?
    GMV Max optimizes organic delivery in addition to paid ad traffic, providing advertisers with incremental GMV that would not otherwise be attainable without GMV Max. Therefore, GMV Max includes organic GMV into its attribution logic.

    Content labelling

    Why are we informing advertisers to enable content disclosures for their organic content?
    GMV Max enhances organic traffic delivery in the feed in order to reach the overall ROI target set by the advertiser. Since the organic content from GMV Max is getting enhanced delivery, advertisers have access to tools to label this content if they wish.
    Do my affiliates need to enable any content disclosures?
    No, affiliate content already contains a commercial content label that reads "eligible for commission" label already informing the user that the content is promotional.
    How can a seller label their own organic content?
    For new content:
    • Before posting a video with a product link, click on the link on the "...More Options"
    • Click "content disclosure and ads"
    • Enable the "Disclose post content" > Check "Your brand" > Save
    • Post your video
    For existing content:
    • Go to the video you want to edit, and click on the "..."
    • Select "Ad Settings"
    • Enable the "Disclose post content" > Check "Your brand" > Save